top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturelitkidsmagazine

Emily St. Marie - Artist and Illustrator

Emily St. Marie is an artist in the Pacific Northwest near Seattle. She is the artist for The Magical Muse Library by Wild Ink Publishing, which is a fantasy series for middle grade readers age 9-12. She also loves illustrating fairy tales (Once Upon a Tower, 2023), and is about to release a children’s book about the joy of laughter written by a comedian. She works primarily in pen, ink, watercolor, and gouache.


1. What inspires you?

I gather inspiration from nature, people, other artists. I like to go to the park and watch people walking their dogs and talking with each other. I take note of the sky, current fashion trends, and see what attracts my attention. I also go to bookshops and check out what’s in their display window, and I often see what’s new at the local library.


2. What is the most valuable piece of advice you’ve been given about art?

Keep practicing until it looks how you want it! I used to think artists did everything perfectly on the first try, but that’s an illusion. Most artists make a lot of sketches before they finalize a design or image.


3. What are common traps for new artists?

To get stuck on one thing and give up. Not trying enough mediums. Using amateur materials. When I was younger, I got sick of doing all of my art with the normal school-issue 2B pencils. When I was about 15, I tried inking with a dip pen. I felt my frustration slipping away, and I enjoyed the polished look it brought to my art. Changing mediums inspired me to keep practicing.


4. What made you like drawing?

I always had a knack for drawing, even at a young age and people would ask me, “You are so good, are you an artist?” that I found myself owning it and replying, “Yes, I am an artist,” even though I didn’t 100% believe in myself as an artist at the time. I started making art out of a desire to not be bored, and it grew into a full-time adventure! Being an artist became part of my identity. I grew into it, and I love it.


5. What kinds of children's books do you like the most?

I really love fairy tale adaptations, because they feel both familiar and new. I love books that are funny. My favorite children’s book illustrator is Tommy DiPaola because his books have a magical feel with great stories to match.


6. What inspired you to try children's literature?

When I was around age 7, I had to do a book report comparing two versions of The Three Billy Goats Gruff. I drew comparisons of the different styles by the book illustrators and explained why their style had an influence on the story. It was that book report that made me really think about children’s book art, and the ability an illustrator had to shape the look/feel of the story. I decided that one day, I too would become a children’s book illustrator. And I did.


7. How do you handle feedback from authors or publishers who want changes made to your artwork?

I adore feedback, and desire this from authors or publishers when I create art for other people’s writing. I think of it as a chance to create something better than what I would have thought of on my own. I listen to their feedback, ask questions if I’m not sure what they want changed, and then make the changes. It helps to submit a rough sketch or drawing and then ask for changes, before I’ve committed all that time to a finished drawing. I find that if I ask enough questions at the beginning of a project, chances are there won’t be that many changes!


8. How do you make sure that the illustrations you create are consistent throughout a book?

If you want to keep your art consistent for a project, use the same materials and style. In the book, Clio’s Curious Dash Through Time, I made 12 different illustrations to poems and stories by different authors, and I keep the look/feel the same by creating a mental “style guide” for myself, so I know what kind of shading and line work I am going with and use that for everything. I also make sure the dark and light ranges are similar across illustrations, so even if the subject matter changes, there is a consistent look.


 9. What tips can you offer to aspiring book illustrators?

Get good at drawing people from various angles. If you are bad at noses or hands, don’t accept that as your reality, keep going. Keep practicing until you get good at it. If you only draw scenery like landscapes, add people. If you only draw people, add settings and landscapes. This will help you get better at drawing scenes, which will prepare you to illustrate your own books one day.


10. How do you ensure that the illustrations are age appropriate and engaging for young readers?

I simplify shapes, make the scene fun, use thick lines when possible, add some exaggeration for comedic effect. Children like things defined, and they like to recognize what’s going on in the scene. If you can add a visual joke in the picture, make sure you do! Everyone loves the chance to laugh at something funny.


Thank you so much, Emily, for the peek into your artistic process! Please follow Emily on her social media accounts and keep her in mind to illustrate your future projects. Keep shining!































25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page