top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturelitkidsmagazine

Emma Finlayson-Palmer - Artist and Author

Emma Finlayson-Palmer is a working class, autistic author and artist who lives in the West Midlands, UK, with her husband and a multitude of children, cats and chickens! She runs #ukteenchat, a writing themed chat on Twitter; mentors for #WriteMentor and is one half of Word Witches, an editing and mentoring business. When she’s not writing, she can usually be found painting, watching birds or wandering around graveyards, often all three simultaneously. Emma loves anything magical and macabre.


1. What was your favorite subject in school?

Probably no surprise really, but it was Art, and English Literature. Having whole lessons devoted to creating art felt like the best thing ever, and not really work at all because it’s always been something that I’ve really loved.


2. What inspires you?

Literally everything! There is very rarely a day that passes where a snippet of overheard conversation, watching the TV, or going on walks isn’t written down or making its way into a sketch.


3. What is the most valuable piece of advice you’ve been given about art?

Draw regularly. You don’t have to be creating huge pieces of art every day, or even every week. Even just little squiggles and doodles a few times a week is keeping your creative side fed and learning new techniques and exploring new ideas. You just never know what might emerge on the page.


4. How do you decide on composition?

I do very rough pencil sketches for the composition and do a whole range of different ideas. I step back to have a look at them and see what parts are working for me. It’s important to trust your instinct and go with what feels right, as that’s usually the best one to go with.


5. Do you only work in one medium?

I work in many different mediums. It’s fun to try new things, but also trying different approaches helps you find new styles and different ideas often need different approaches. Different mediums can express your emotions or visual interpretations in different ways. For example, watercolour can often be playful and colourful and good for showing movement and fun. Whilst using grey and charcoals might give it a more sombre or serious feeling.


6. What made you like drawing?

I’m a very visual person and learn best through seeing things done rather than being told, so it was a natural step to enjoy visual creations. I struggled with my reading for a while as a child, so drawing comics and doodles really helped me explore my love of storytelling using images as well as words.


7. Do you always have a camera/sketchbook with you?

I try to. Sometimes it’s tricky, but as phones now have better cameras, these are great for taking pictures of things that inspire you, so you can look over the images later as much as you want. Adjusting angles you take photos from can also help you with composition too. I like to think of my phone as a little personal portfolio of images and ideas.


8. What kinds of children's books do you like the most?

I’m a real sucker for spooky books and things with a big splash of magic! I also really love cats and animals in stories.


9. What inspired you to try children's literature?

When I started writing, I tried writing in all different styles and different age groups. I discovered along the way that I really love creating stories that perhaps a younger me would have loved, and still do! Children’s stories often are freeing and more open to fun and adventure in a way writing for grown ups isn’t.


10. What do you do when you feel stuck?

When I feel stuck, I listen to music, or binge a show on Netflix, or stare out of the window at trees and birds or go on walks. Quite often, if I shift where I am or switch my focus onto something else, it helps me get unstuck, and sometimes also brings new inspiration and ideas.


11. How do you handle feedback from authors or publishers who want changes made to your artwork?

As long as I’m being true to my style and my passions, I’m always open to feedback and suggestions for changes. Sometimes it’s having those fresh eyes of someone else that might give you a spark of inspiration that will make your art even better.


12. What tips can you offer to aspiring book illustrators?

Keep a sketchbook or notebook around and doodle regularly. Some of the best ideas come when you’re not looking for them and when you’re just having fun and enjoying playing with shapes and quick sketches.


Thank you for the peek into your creative process, Emma! Please follow Emma on her social media accounts and check out her book, Autumn Moonbeam, in our Bookshop! Keep shining!


































32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page