top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturelitkidsmagazine

Jeanette Jones - Children's Author, Teacher, and Baker

Jeanette Fazzari Jones grew up on the Jersey shore, learning how to cook and craft alongside her parents and grandparents. The inspiration for her stories comes from the fabulous children in her life, past and present. These days, she lives in Kentucky, works as a teacher, and strives to be the neighborhood mom with the good snacks. Her inability to sit still often finds her baking, gardening, sewing, or playing board games with her husband and kids.


1. What did you like to write and read as a kid?

As a kid, I loved all sorts of books. If I could read it, I probably did! And we have some funny stories as a result. Here's one: when I was very young, my mom read to me every night. One of my favorite bedtime stories was The Night Before Christmas. Well, the story goes that when I was about two-almost-three years old, I had heard it so many times I could recite it from memory, including where to turn the pages. My parents would trick people and tell them their toddler could read! When I actually learned to read, I enjoyed mysteries, historical fiction, and choose-your-own-adventure books most of all. As for writing, I enjoyed writing short stories and poems, but I was definitely more of a reader than a writer as a child.


2. What’s your favorite genre to write?

I love writing fiction picture books. There is something magic about the way they pull kids in with each page turn, so that's where my writing heart is. However, I also have a middle-grade fantasy I'm playing around with!


3. What inspires you?

The real children in my life inspire me. I am a kindergarten teacher, and I have two amazing kiddos of my own. I try to always keep my "story book glasses" on. Things that interest them, what they struggle with, their unique perspectives on a situation, and even the silly things they do often ping my brain and make me think, "That would be a great book!"


4. How do you get over “writer’s block”?

I put the project aside for a little while. I tend to be in the middle of lots of manuscripts, so I shift my focus to another, and then circle back around. Another thing that helps is movement, or doing something that doesn't involve much thought. Often, during otherwise boring moments—washing the dishes, vacuuming, riding in a car, mowing the lawn—I find my brain working out details on a manuscript I'm struggling with.


5. How do you come up with titles for your books?

Titles are SOOOOO HARD for me! I try my best to capture the main emotion and vibe of the book ... and then I ask everyone for help!


6. Would you and your main character get along?

Yes! Felicia was actually modeled after childhood me! Just like her, I'm very action-oriented. When something is going wrong, I like to do something about it. Also, we both like a tasty meal!


7. What is the most valuable piece of advice you’ve been given about writing?

Find critique partners. People who you can trust, who aren't afraid to tell you when something isn't working (but in a nice way!), are so valuable. They will push you to make your writing the best it can be! They will remind you how great you are when you're down and having writer's block.


8. What are common traps for new authors?

Never thinking a story is good enough. Every time I read Meatballs for Grandpa—even with it published—I find little things I would change! There comes a time where your work is great and it's time to stop. That's why critique partners are amazing. They can spot things you need to fix, but also tell you that something is ready!


Also, telling instead of showing. This is something I still catch myself doing all the time! For example, "Sally was angry," versus "Sally gritted her teeth as her fingernails dug little dents into her palms. How could he do this to her!?"


9. Would you share something about yourself that your readers don’t know (yet)?

Though I have not trained in a very long time, I'm technically still a fourth-degree black belt! Growing up, my sport was martial arts. I both took and taught karate lessons from age 10-25! So, if you're walking down a dark alley at night, I'm the girl to help you! (Actually, no—never walk down a dark alley at night!)


10. How often do you write?

Every day! I find that my best time of day is in the morning. So even if I can only grab 15 minutes to work on something, I make it a habit to wake up every day and write!


11. Do you write more than one thing at a time?

I write SO MANY THINGS at a time! Since picture books are short, I typically have multiple concepts going at once. Our moods come through in our writing, so I try to work on something that matches how I'm feeling that day.


12. Do you write on the computer or freehand?

Both! Often, if I get stuck, I sit down with a fun colored pen and scribble out notes on paper. But when I'm just trying to flesh out a concept quickly, a computer is faster. Sometimes, when I'm revising, I have the computer open with the draft while I play around with words freehand on paper!


Thank you for your incredible encouragement and advice, Jeanette! Please follow Jeanette on social media, peruse her website, and check out her book, Meatballs for Grandpa, in our Bookshop! Keep shining!




28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page