top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturelitkidsmagazine

Laura Cooney - Mentor and Writer

Laura Cooney is a writer from Edinburgh, Scotland. She writes for both children and adults and is currently working on a fantasy quest novel for Middle Grade readers. Her pamphlet of poetry Invisible Things, which she co-wrote with some of the mentors on this site, is available to buy on Etsy and she has work in Parakeet Mag, Northern Gravy and The Dirigible Balloon. When she isn’t writing, she’ll be with her children, as close to the sea as possible. There will be Ice-Cream.


1. What was your favorite subject in school?

My favorite subject in school was, as you might expect, English. But I also enjoyed Biology, Art and Design and, very strangely, woodwork. Despite this, since leaving school I have not picked up one single chisel, but I have picked up a paintbrush, a pen and a microscope, so woodwork must’ve been a passing thing for me.


2. Where do you like to write?

I have enjoyed writing in many places over the years. When I was a child, I would visit the local library after school and I would write upstairs at the big desks with the green lights until my dad phoned the librarian to send me home.

Now though, I enjoy writing in my local cafe while I wait to pick my children up from playgroup; they have great music and it is noisy with the bustle of people coming and going. The cafe is the only place where I write my children’s novel well and right now that is my favourite thing to write and so the cafe is my favourite writing spot.


3. What’s your favorite genre to write?

That is a tricky one for me because I also write for grownups and I also love doing that, but my heart lies in Middle Grade at the moment. There is something very special about writing for someone who is about nine years old and remembering what it was like to be none years old and recreating that magic again. I am not sure if I write my children’s novels for you or for the little me that still lives inside my head.


4. What inspires you?

Everything. I have a notebook for every bag. Ideas bubble up from nowhere all the time and the only sad thing is, there isn’t enough time to write them all down when you grow up. So get started right now.


5. How do you get over “writer’s block”?

I think the best thing to do is not to worry about it when it happens. Sometimes I just need to rest or sleep, to reset my thoughts or, and this might seem strange, but I often read to take my mind off my own writing. Other times I look for a prompt to help me think of ideas. Sometimes I look at my friend’s websites for these or I will ask someone to give me three words and then I write the first thing that comes into my head or I go a walk, or look out the window and write about what I see there.


6. Would you and your main character get along?

Mila and I would get along very well indeed. She is a brave, tenacious child who doesn’t let anything stop her, and she is always willing to listen to advice. She enjoys a quest and so do I.


7. If you could spend a day with another popular author, who would you choose?

I would spend the day with Philip Ardagh because I think he seems like a generous, funny and intelligent man. He makes me laugh all the time when I see his posts on the internet and I think we would have enough to talk about to take us for a day at the seaside with chips at the end. If you haven’t heard of him or read any of his work, then you should definitely take a look.


8. What are common traps for new authors?

That they think it is easy. It is not easy. Like anything in life, you need to work hard to be a good writer and if you really want it. You keep going, finding new ways to get better. Most of the time, that begins by sharing your work with other people and making friends. Writers write alone, but a good writer is never alone.


9. Does anyone in your family read your books?

Yes, and it is scary. I have poems and stories published that people read all the time. They say they like them but I NEVER believe them!


10. If you had to describe yourself in just three words, what would those be?

Friendly. Determined. Resourceful.

I am my main character, really.


11. Do you let people read your work before it is finished?

Yes. It is the only way to improve, I think.


Laura, thanks so much for your awesome interview! Please check out Laura's poetry pamphlet in our Bookshop and follow her on Twitter/X. Keep shining, readers!








40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page