top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturelitkidsmagazine

Sarah Hovorka - Children's Author

Sarah Hovorka is the author of picture books, novels, and short stories for children. In addition to writing, Sarah works in the public sector and spends her free time reading, homeschooling, and playing video and board games with her husband and three sons in California.


1. What did you like to write and read as a kid?

As a kid, I mostly wrote poetry and snippets of fictional scenes. I enjoyed reading most genres, including popular series like Sweet Valley Twins and Goosebumps and classics like Anne of Green Gables and Robinson Crusoe.


2. What was your favorite subject in school?

In elementary school, my favorite subject was reading, with math being a close second. Actually, I think those subjects remained my favorites all through school, and even now.


3. Do you play music while you write — and, if so, what’s your favorite?

I find the lyrics in some music distracting while trying to write my own words, so if I listen to anything it’s usually classical music like Vivaldi or nature sounds like rain falling.


4. What are common traps for new authors?

Trying to plan every detail of the plot out ahead of time and insisting on starting from the beginning. Those are crucial elements of a story, but they don’t need to be decided on first, and sometimes new writers get so focused on that they forget the interesting elements they already had planned and start to feel stuck. It’s ok to start in the middle or start before you know exactly where the story is going.


5. Do you prefer ebooks, printed books, or audiobooks most of the time?

I prefer printed books most of the time. I like to read several books at once and the printed page helps me to reorient to which story I’m reading.


6. Do you write more than one thing at a time?

Yes! My mood often dictates what kind of thing I’m writing, so I go back and forth between several stories. Plus, if I start to feel stuck on one story, I can take a creative break with another one. That often helps clear my head and gets me back on track with the first story.


7. Do you ever stop writing and start something different?

Yes! Sometimes I stop feeling connected to the story I’m writing and I’ll usually retire it, often permanently. Other times, a story I’m writing is not coming out with the right tone or pace I envisioned, so I’ll start something new and get back to the original story at a later date.


8. Do you write on the computer or freehand?

Both. Usually, I start by writing freehand then transfer the writing to the computer. My freehand work is not always a complete scene, but rather the most exciting or important parts of the story or character development. When I transfer it to the computer, I add in transitions and scenery details.


9. Do you carry around a journal to note inspiration?

Absolutely. I keep a pad of paper and a pen with me, plus I can use the notepad on my cell phone. Being able to jot down ideas, and even snippets of stories I’m already working on, allows me to continue making consistent progress without feeling like I’m forcing myself to write.


Thanks for the insight into your writing process, Sarah! Please follow Sarah on social media, explore her author website, and check out her picture book, Unicycle Dad, in our Bookshop! Keep shining!




Author Website: www.SarahHovorka.com

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page