top of page
Search
Writer's picturelitkidsmagazine

Stacey Bartlett - Debut Children's Author

Stacey was born in West Palm Beach, Florida, and currently lives in the beautiful mountains of Western North Carolina. She graduated from Palm Beach Atlantic University with a BS in Psychology and has been a homeschool teacher for over twenty years. Her debut YA contemporary/sweet romance was published on September 3rd, 2024, and her middle-grade fantasy, Monster Mountain, will be published in February 2025, both with Monarch Educational Services. Her work also appears in the eleventh edition (2024) of County Lines Literary Journal and the spring 2024 issue of Reckon Review. She has four children. Stacey loves to read and to write stories that bring hope to her readers’ hearts.


1. What did you like to write and read as a kid?

As a child, my very favorite book was The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe, by C.S. Lewis. I loved all of The Chronicles of Narnia! I also read everything I could about animals, especially horses. I’ve always loved to write, and when I was young, I wrote mostly fantasy, usually involving unicorns!


2. Where do you like to write?

My favorite place to write is curled up in the corner of my couch in a cozy cardigan with my rescue dog Starla snuggled beside me!


3. What inspires you?

I am inspired by nature and my children. I am also inspired by life—we  sometimes forget what a wonder it is to simply be alive on this spinning planet! I find great inspiration as well in the struggles of my past and in the struggles I see in those around me. I always pray my books will bring hope to my readers’ hearts.


4. How do you get over ‘writer's block’?

I find two opposite approaches often help with writer’s block. One is to have a routine and sit down and write even when I am feeling uninspired. My imagination takes over once I start, and the words are usually there waiting for me. In contrast, I sometimes get busy with another activity or work on a different project altogether and trust my subconscious to work behind the scenes until suddenly I am excited to write again!


5. Would you and your main character get along?

Shanna, the main character in my YA sweet romance released on September 3rd, is a strong young woman who is fighting to free her mom and sister from the tyranny of her abusive stepfather with the help of her first love. I held a similar role in my family growing up, so many of my personality traits as well as my flaws found their way into Shanna as I wrote. I believe we would get along because I would love and respect her for her loyalty to her family and her determination to keep them safe, though there might be some potential for conflict because we would be so much alike!


6. What is your schedule like when writing a book?

My favorite time to write is early in the morning when my children and dogs are still sleeping and the house is peaceful. I write every morning and always look forward to it!


7. What is the most valuable piece of advice you’ve been given about writing?

A valuable piece of advice I’ve been given and often share with others is how important the power of perseverance is in the life of a writer. Not only is perseverance necessary to complete a project or manuscript, but it is vital when faced with revisions and rejection on the road to publication!


8. What are common traps for new authors?

I believe the comparison trap is one all authors must be aware of and avoid. Every writer’s journey will be unique, and it is important to find the joy in your own path. Another trap is social media/marketing. It can be draining and exhausting, and authors must struggle with finding time to actually write!


9. How often do you write?

I love to write every day. Daily challenges often try to get in the way, but I am much happier if I find even a little time for my writing!


10. Do you write more than one thing at a time?

I only work on one novel manuscript at a time, but I do enjoy submitting short fiction and creative nonfiction to literary magazines as well, so I sometimes hop back and forth between those projects!


Stacey, thank you for your insightful interview and writing wisdom! Please follow Stacey on social media and add her debut novels to your TBR list! Keep shining!








11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Yorumlar


bottom of page