top of page
Search
Writer's picturelitkidsmagazine

Susan Drew - Children's Author

Susan Drew writes children’s picture books and middle grade novels. She lives in Vermont with her husband and very talkative husky. In her free time, she loves to kayak, watch British baking shows, and paint. Susan’s first book, Sadie Does Not Like Sorries, illustrated by Zonaisha Arshad, published by EverImagine Books, was released on August 6, 2024.

1. What did you like to write and read as a kid?

I read everything. I always loved reading and could be lost for hours. Instead of cleaning my room, or doing my homework, I was curled up on my bed enthralled. When I was younger, I liked the Laura Ingalls Wilder books. As I got a little older, I loved mysteries – Nancy Drew, The Hardy Boys, and Trixie Belden. You can see I’ve always liked book series. Once I find a character I like, I just want to keep hearing more and more about their adventures.


2. What’s your favorite genre to write?

My favorite genre to write is children’s fiction. I first started writing picture books, but now I’ve fallen hard for middle grade books. I have much more room to explore a story and character. I particularly love children’s books because I can still infuse a book with magic. It’s okay to have a talking squirrel, or a cranky tooth fairy, or ride a wagon to the moon for lunch.


3. How do you get over “writer’s block”?

Sometimes I’ll look to writer’s prompts to get ideas. I’ll start writing on a topic and I’ll get inspired to write something else. When that happens, I run with it to see where it goes. I also like to outline. Outlining, to me, is like a big game of ‘what if’. I start with an idea, like what if I found an elephant in my backyard? I’d call the police. Who wouldn’t believe me. Who would say to call the zoo. Who wouldn’t believe me either. So, I’d google it. Google said elephants eat tree bark and leaves. Then I saw that the elephant ate my mother’s favorite peonies. My mother had a fit. Which scared the elephant, and he ran away… Boom. I have the beginning of a story.


4. How do you come up with titles for your books?

Titles are so difficult! I usually pick the easiest thing. Or I ask my husband and kids, and my critique partners. Then I just go with something and hope for the best.


5. Would you and your main character get along?

I think I am my main character. I’m really only a kid masquerading as an adult. Shhh…don’t tell anyone.


6. What is the most valuable piece of advice you’ve been given about writing?

The best piece of advice I got, and I got this from many places, was to write a lot. A lot, a lot. Way more than I thought I’d need to write. I thought I could write a book, publish it, write another, ad infinitum. But that just isn’t the case. It took a long time before my writing was even good. I had to find a rhythm, a voice, a style. I had to find something that other people wanted to read. Even when it seems like I have all the technical pieces of a book covered, and a story that my critique partners thinks is good, my agent or a publisher may still pass on it. I have lots of books languishing on my computer hard drive. So what. I just write another one.


7. Do you prefer ebooks, printed books, or audiobooks most of the time?

I like all forms of books! For a picture book, I have to have the printed book. I have to be able to savor the pictures and I can’t do that in an ebook or audio format. I love audio books for when I’m in the car or walking my dog. Lastly, I love ebooks for their ease. I can load up several for travel and they weigh less than traditional books. I can read an ebook at night and I don’t have to turn on a light. Give me all the books!


8. Does anyone in your family read your books?

Everyone in my family reads my books. Thankfully. They read and comment and help me to make the books the best they can be. Of course, my sisters always say my books are the best thing they ever read. But surprisingly, my kids will give it to me straight. Too straight sometimes, but I’d rather they say it than I publish a book and get a bad review.


9. Would you share something about yourself that your readers don’t know (yet)?

Most people think I’m fairly outgoing, but they don’t realize that I’m essentially a big chicken. I grew up as a military brat and moved a ton of times as a kid. Through that experience, I learned to jump right in. I talk to people; I get involved; I make do. That doesn’t mean I like it or that I’m good at it. I just kept talking. Underneath that though, I’m mortified. Did I really just say that? I should have said something else instead. I vow never to say that again. But it doesn’t work. The next time I’m in a new situation (like now) I’m talking again to make sure no one notices my knees are shaking.


Susan, thank you for the glimpse into your writing journey! Please follow Susan on social media and check out her debut picture book, Sadie Does Not Like Sorries, in our Bookshop! Keep shining!





41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page